Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

'Home' - the Kelpies launch event

It's taken me a few days to edit my photos from the sound & light show that launched the Kelpies on Thursday and Friday (I attended the event on the latter of these two days). Although many of my pictures weren't of a good enough quality to publish, I was still pleased to have a good cross-section that I can look back at with some satisfaction.

To be fair, few photographs (either by myself or anyone else) can fully describe the wonder of the event, which was a delight for both eyes and ears. It all started with a evening walk through the Helix park, which had been transformed for the occasion, and ended at the vast structures that are the Kelpies. A sound and light show running on a continuous 15-minute loop illuminated the giant horses' heads with patterns and colours, while bursts of flame shot out in time to the music along the canal bank. I thought it was terrific and I am so glad that I had bought tickets in advance for the event.

Given the hundreds, probably thousands, of people who attended the two-day event - and given that many of them were as busy with their cameras as I was - there are bound to be thousands of photos of the Kelpies' launch show published on social media and other websites. This is just one. But it's one of mine - and I quite like it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.