Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

The Eyes Have It

Following the official launch of the Kelpies to the public yesterday (when, of course, it was both a public holiday and bright & sunny) I went along this afternoon, when none of these statements applied. To be fair, I had booked to go on this guided tour a few weeks ago and so I knew I would be taking my chances with the weather.

It was not a pleasant afternoon: cold and wet, and a complete contrast from the previous day. The group of us on the tour huddled round the guide as she explained all about what 'kelpies' are, about the Forth & Clyde Canal, about the sculptures' concept, design and construction. All very interesting stuff and we shivered along until we got inside one of the beasts, where it was marginally more comfortable. Photographs were duly taken - not at their best with silver steel against a grey sky - until we emerged from our temporary shelter into a downpour.

At least I can consider myself fortunate to live relatively near by, and so can return when the weather is more clement. One plus side of the weather conditions and the school holidays having ended: the site was quiet and one didn't have to compete for viewing space with hundreds of others wanting the same photograph from the same location. Every cloud...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.