Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

A Remembrance of things past?

Today was the last day of 'Glasgow International', a festival of contemporary visual arts that has been running in Glasgow for the past few weeks. I had visited some of the exhibitions a week or so ago and had planned to visit more, but time (and other events!) got the better of me. So I took a trip into Glasgow today and visited some of the other exhibitions before the festival came to a close.

I will be honest and say that most of the 'art' was beyond me, but at least all of the exhibitions were free and some raised a smile.

One of the more visually appealing (to my untrained eyes) was called 'Love' and took over the former Govanhill Baths on the south side of the city. According to the festival website, 'Love' consisted of several "large brightly-coloured suspended and free-standing inflatable sculptures." One of these "sculptures" was of the 1990's pop singer Betty Boo, and I liked the contrast between the inflatable image of the glamorous singer and the peeling paint and faded glory of the host venue.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.