PurbeckDavid49

By PurbeckDavid49

Austria, Tirol: Inntal / Inn Valley

This isn't the most picturesque photo taken by me that day, but it is one which reminded me of at least part of that long weekend.

We set off on foot along the road southwards towards Austria. The scenery in the snow was spellbinding, and it was just warm enough to walk comfortably. I remember getting my passport stamped at Scharnitz, and getting as far as Seefeld on foot. There was no public transport available to take us from Germany into Austria, we were going to rely on hitch-hiking; and it must have been in Seefeld that we got a lift down to Innsbruck.

On the way back we were picked up by American military personnel in a Jeep. This photograph was taken on the road to Germany, looking back down into the valley of the river Inn. My guess is that the town below us is Zirl (but I am open to other offers).

What were members of the American armed forces doing in Austria? Simple: they were heading back to Bavaria, where they were stationed in their thousands. It was the aftermath of World War II. (More on this topic when I get around to uploading photos of Berlin taken in April 1967.)


PHOTOGRAPHIC INFO:
Camera: Minolta M1 (35mm film)
Film: Kodak's Ektachrome-X, film speed 100ASA/ISO (or higher?)
1/30th sec, f/5.6

[This blip added in April 2014]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.