WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Last chance saloon

Today is my last chance to blip Delta huts, so I made the most of it. You will note certain family resemblance to my favourite hut, which is not far from this one but unfortunately is not yet surrounded by water.

We went to Tortosa first thing, so that we could stock up on essentials such as bacalao and jamón at the market. We also found a lovely bookshop where, among other things, I bought two highly illustrated full-colour books about local architecture (modernista and industrial) for only 5 euros each -- I think they must have been subsidised by the Generalitat, as they must have cost at least that to produce. It's a pity I didn't buy them earlier as they are a guide to some really amazing buildings around Tarragona, and in this area as well. They are in Catalan, but I can always look at the pictures and anyway, written Catalan is fairly straightforward to understand.

At home we did some sorting out and then went for a last lunch at the chiringuito. Oh, how we will miss it! Fideua (a Catalan form of paella using short, thin noodles) wasn't on the menu, but the chef made it for us anyway -- adorned with mussels, prawns, cuttlefish, and very small crabs.

Home, more packing, lounging on the terrace, then out again to see the sun set over the rice paddies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.