junk

I wasn't out much today - just a quick coffee - and was a bit rushed anyway catching up on stuff I didn't do yesterday. Not much chance for inspirational Blipping.

Well, depends how you see it.

I had a Twitter exchange on Monday about Real Madrid, and it has been on my mind since. I was trying to find something related to that and couldn't, but found something else.

I went to see Real play Ajax Amsterdam in Madrid at Easter 1973. The semifinal 2nd leg of the European Cup. Ajax won, and went on to win the final. Their 3rd consecutive cup win. A team full of stars, Johann Cruyff being the best known.

It was just coincidence to be in the city that day.

I was in Madrid again in May 1998 for a conference, and watched Real winning the Champion's League final on TV in a restaurant. That game was in - Amsterdam (but not against Ajax).

Our hotel was almost next door to the Real stadium, so next day my son (aged 5) wanted a trip to their merchandise shop.

David & Hitomi have nothing to do with any of that, but they came up in conversation last week. Tonight their card turned up while I was doing my rummaging. It's a thank you card for a wedding present. Very stylish. Maybe that's why it wasn't binned 20 years ago. Check on large to get the full effect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.