Allons-y! fiber arts

By Bethanne

The Fiber Student

I had a very interesting and educational talk today with a woman who has been a fiber artist for more than 20 years. She advised me on how to shave off an enormous amount of time in the dye studio with keeping dye liquors and using vinegar in the soaking of fibers as opposed to in the dyes. I had a bad experience with that so a bit gun shy. I have been using the acids in the dyes themselves. I even got information about glass jars and why American made ones break and exactly where they break. It was a great chat. I bought fiber from her too which was the best part!

This is my dye work and a skein hot off of the wheel. It's heading downstairs now for a soak. merino POOFS out tremendously when it is set and I am anxious to see how that goes.

Sidney cat had to go to the vet today. He has yet another bladder infection. We had a long stretch without a pee issue but yesterday he re-earned is moniker, Mr. Piss after decorating one of Isabelle's soft toys. Poor Isabelle. No toys until Sidney has been on the antibiotics for at least 2 days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.