'Valerie June'

Went and watched the amazing Valerie June at a free lunchtime gig at Basement Discs in the city. One of the new talents on the scene and has just finished playing her gigs at the 25th Anniversary Bluesfest up at Byron Bay. I have read some glowing reviews of her shows. Quite a unique and quirky mix of styles which she just calls 'Roots' music.

I didn't have an opportunity to ask her before the show if she minded me taking any photos, so I waited until after the show and introduced myself and she was fine posing for a shot for me.

Tomorrow night MsMun and I have a date night and I've booked tickets to see her play at the Corner Hotel where she is the support act for Booker T Jones. Really looking forward to this one. I saw him play a few years ago at the Doheny Blues Festival in California and loved every second of his show. One of the true legends right there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.