Inverculain

By Inverculain

Train Lines

I took the train from Amsterdam to Hilversum this morning, and it made me embarrassed about how poor our rail services are in the UK. The train was on time; there was plenty seating despite it being rush hour; and it cost me a small fraction of what I'd have had to pay here. Then when I came back, intending to go directly from Hilversum to Schiphol airport, as I was buying my ticked they told me there was a problem on that line and the direct train wasn't running...but the nice gentleman at the counter printed out a custom routing for me via Amsterdam, with full details of times, platforms, etc.!

Not much opportunity to look for blips, but I took this on the hoof as I changed at Amsterdam Centraal on the way back to Schiphol. In an ideal world the train would have been further along the track towards me, and instead of being stationary should have been an impressive accelerating blur.... but beggars can't be choosers! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.