Inverculain

By Inverculain

Ignition

It's been cold here, and raining heavily - definitely not conducive to going out looking for blips, and the sort of day for staying in and keeping cosy beside a roaring log fire.

However...we don't have one here. So instead, ignoring all those dire and eminently sensible "Don't play with matches!" warnings, I had some fun with a little "pyromania in miniature"! :)

This is the moment when a match, touched to a candle flame, ignites. I tried lots of these, using the motor drive, and I loved seeing the detail of what happens over the fractions of a second when a match "lights". As the flame expands, the shapes it makes, with shrouds of vapour expanding around it, are weird and beautiful. I was very tempted to blip this one - which to my imagination, felt like I'd caught a glimpse of a phoenix rising! - but in the end I went for the extreme close of up the moment when the match initially catches and flares.

Here it is large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.