Barcelona...

A well earned rest day!!

I stayed in bed until 9.30am. I think Douglas had been up and out for his first breakfast before I’d even opened my eyes. I’m not sure I’d call 9.30am a long lie but it seems that as I get older, I’m less able to stay in bed late. I got up and we all went down to the little café under the apartment for breakfast. The sign outside said bacon and eggs so we opted for that, sadly it was served up on cold plates so didn’t stay warm long enough to eat it. Eat it we did though. The coffee in France and Spain doesn’t ever appear to be hot even though it’s served with hot milk. It’s always just ready to drink. Maybe that’s why they don’t bother with takeaway.

Dad and I went for a wander in search of new hankies while Ary went back to bed. Douglas Senior went to find a bike shop for new tyres. I do hope they match his bike or his saddle or whatever it is they’re supposed to match. There’s been much chatter about the cycling rules and what they say about things matching. Apparently yellow socks aren’t cool either.

We walked all the way down to the beach. I miss the sea. I’m lucky in Edinburgh, having the countryside, the city and the sea all within walking distance from my flat. Along the way we found a random excavation site. I’m not sure what it was all about, I probably should have read the blurb but I’m not really one for culture or history. I like real things that are here and now.

No success on finding new hankies so we got on the subway back up to the apartment. We decided that it was within walking distance back to the apartment from the next station to the one at Sagrada Familia and I’m glad we did as we passed a fruit shop selling a massive box of strawberries for three and a half euros. Bargain! The fruit is so much nicer here. We also found a little shop selling hankies for a euro each. I bought seven. Unusual for me, I like even numbers but they only had one pink one left so I opted for odd. Random.

Campbell’s family went home today so he joined us for dinner on Ary’s last night with the team. I shall miss him on the rest of the trip. We went out for tapas. I can’t say I’m a big fan if I’m honest. I suspect I’m a bit too fussy for it. I have so many texture issues and whilst the mushrooms looked good, they’re not for me.

We repacked the trailer, Dad style with the weight distributed properly rather than conveniently as Ary and I had been going. The trailer is less jerky with stuff in right so I guess my Dad is right again. A reasonably early night, ready for the next day and the trauma that would be getting out of the car park and out of Barcelona and on with our journey.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.