Together

Posting my blip early today; the choice is clear, and I am heading away relatively soon to meet up with the boys and their Grandad; the four of us are off to watch the Auckland team (the Blues) play the New South Wales team (the Waratahs) in a Super 15 rugby game at Eden Park this evening. Game starts at 5:35. (I presume that the almighty television dollar determines the timing)

I flagged away a morning run due to fog. I don't mind running in fog; indeed it can be fun. But it was so dense, photography would have been difficult (particularly predawn, had I headed for the dawn service for ANZAC Day), and the moisture perhaps would not be the best for the camera. In the expectation of a sunny midday (the usual in Auckland when we have foggy mornings), I waited until midday.

Along the boardwalk by Coxs Creek, I saw darting birds which I guessed were kotare (kingfishers). It took a little while to spot them. The first one I focussed on departed just as I was ready to take the photograph. Further fast flying near where I had come from, attracted me back along the boardwalk a wee way. I was lucky enough to see two kotare, together in the same dead tree. They stayed there, and still, long enough to get a few shots; this one being the best.

I have cropped it making it square while removing extra background. The result pleases me greatly, especially the large version. As I had previously taken and blipped a kotare this year, my bird photography count for 2014 remains at 36 (many not blipped).

On my way back, I ran along Ponsonby Road, where I saw three new Local Thoughts, and in case my kotare photos were not as good as I hoped (and also because they may well be torn or scribbled on before I am back again) I got a record of each.

A bit further along and someone called out hello to me. Just in time for me to be able to see him. Sure that in that quick glimpse I had recognised him, I stopped and asked "Is that you D?" He said yes and we had a brief conversation. I had spent many years helping him with a serious mental illness, until it became impractical when I went full time in private practice. He has made big gains in wellness in the last few years, and now is working towards losing weight and gaining fitness. I am so pleased for him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.