this luminous life.

By Laura

Me and the Bean.

Spoon.*

Fourth of July. Around noon, my sister, Sam, and I decided to head downtown for the Taste of Chicago. So did millions of other people. It was crowded, extremely hot, tiring, but still pretty good. I enjoy going every year; this year, I actually sampled new foods instead of eating the usual things I like. Heh.

After getting the first round of food, we headed over to The Bean because I wanted to take a picture. Ever since I started blip, I've wanted to snap a photo of this just to post it. I've never taken photos of it before, because it's such a touristy thing to do. Everyone there was taking pictures of it, and playing with their reflections.... like I did (today's blip was a choice between the posted and this one)!! Here's another Bean picture.

Afterwards, we stopped at Macy's (Or was it Marshall Field's?) to find bathrooms that weren't port-a-potties, and for Sam and Kelly to look for shoes. When we walked into the department store, I looked up and thought, "oh my god" when I saw how huge this flag was. Apparently the original flag used in a parade in 1916 weighed 900(lbs?) and required 80 people to carry it. Two more flags were created later to replace the original, with the most recent being a 50x100 foot flag. Just... thought that was interesting?

Shoes were purchased, Gatorade was devoured, and we returned to the park to sit for a half hour and chat with a security guard before grabbing another round of food. The night ended with fireworks over the lake. Before it became dark outside, I took photos of the crowd assembling along along the water and thought it was rather scenic (especially with the boats and birds).

*I think this song is actually talking about the Bean in the picture, the band originates from the Chicago area.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.