sunshineband

By KC2013

The Riddell

It may be March, but I've only just got around to using a lovely present given to me at Christmas by my brother and sister-in-law: a three hour photography tour of Edinburgh. It was excellent fun and the weather was spectacular. I'd highly recommend Will's tours to tourists and residents alike. I learned a lot about a city I've lived in for years (e.g. John Knox's unusual burial place) and enjoyed walking around and taking in the sights.

Greyfriar's Kirkyard was particularly interesting - not sure I've been in there before - and apparently some of the graves inspired J K Rowling in her choice of key names in the Harry Potter books. Here's the gravestone of Thomas Riddell aka Tom Riddell aka Lord Voldemort. This has become so famous (infamous?) that someone tried to steal it last year. Extraordinary.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.