weewilkie

By weewilkie

Maryhill Locks

Took this picture at the Maryhill locks on my way back from work. It's a view through one of the lock-gates to water falling into the next lock.

This place does have a bit of personal history. Not long after I moved up to Glasgow I started working at Community Central Halls on Maryhill Rd. One of the projects I was involved with was the Forth and Clyde Canal Project. I was the summer events co-ordinator.

My remit was to organise events actually on the canal itself. There were lots.
- a barge ride pulled along the towpath by your actual Clydesdale horse. I was on the barge and stepped into a coil of rope that the horse was pulling. It suddenly tightened around my ankle and I was almost pulled into the canal and a murky end..
- a Teddy Bear's picnic on the Locks which had to be moved inside to the Halls as it was torrential rain. I was in a Teddy costume waving away and giving thumbs up to ultra-excited children. Some genius (possibly me) decided we could inflate the bouncy castle inside until the diesel fumes from the generator almost killed us all.
- a fishing competition where there was a junior and senior trophy to be had. The biggest fish of the day was caught by a junior who insisted that he should get  the senior trophy too as he beat the adults. After a consultation amongst the judges (me and someone else) we decided to okay this and give the wee man both trophies. He wasn't a gracious victor and almost caused a fishing fighting frenzy on the banks of the canal.
- a canoeing safari that had to dodge pellet rifle fire and boulders.
- a ceilidh at Firhill Basin (behind where Partick Thistle play) that actually went pretty well. So well that I took home a lass that I ultimately shit my pants over.
- and the pièce de résistance : a Sonic the Hedgehog extravaganza at Firhill Basin that was a live action piece of theatre replete with Clyde 1 DJ and fireworks. Especially the fireworks.

What else? I was a Doc Martin wearing merman dancing in a street parade. I met one of my best friends. I met my Ex wife there. I licked whipped cream off a girl's nose as she drove her car.  A Trout Mask Replica. I think I started to really become the person that I am now.

So. Maryhill Docks, on the Forth and Clyde Canal. Water tumbling from a height. These memories cascading from that wonderful time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.