If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Fritillaria meleagris (Snakeshead Fritillary)

As I knew I would be spending much of the day engaged in jungle warfare reserve management mowing the lawn at the holiday lodge and the weather forecast said rain at 3:00pm, it was yet another garden shot today. Incidentally the weather forecast was wrong it was 2:35 when the rain started.

In the early years of our living here we planted a few fritillaria. Conditions must have suited them as they have flowered and seeded every year since. This has resulted quite a good sized clump. They are probably at their best just at the moment and as they are (when wild) a wet meadowland plant I thought the more wide angle shot was more appropriate than a close up. To me it gives more of the feel of a meadow.

I am given to understand they are called meleagris as it is supposed to resemble the pattern on the breast of a Guinea Fowl. Personally having had chance to closely examine both Guinea Fowl and the fritillaria I can't see it myself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.