eyesee

By davidc

The Lincoln Imp

Following my blip of the outside of Lincoln Cathedral (+ floodlights) yesterday, I checked out the inside of the Cathedral this morning. It is so photogenic I had a real problem choosing today's blip.

However in the end it HAD to be the Lincoln Imp! It's not so easy to photograph, being rather tiny and very high up. The tripod helped of course, plus a bit of cropping & Clone Stamp to get rid of the unsightly mains cable they have run near to it.

The Cathedral staff were very gracious and had no objection to me taking my photos and using the tripod, and I am very grateful to them.

Seemingly there are several legends about the imp. Wikipedia gives a good description; the most likely "explanation" is that an angel turned this mischievous imp to stone after he started smashing the place up, tripping up the bishop and throwing rocks at the angel!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.