eyesee

By davidc

Frieze at Theatre Royal, Newcastle upon Tyne

Back home now after our travels. We went to a play at the Theatre Royal, and while waiting for it to start I tried some shots. The theatre was quite recently renovated back to its original 1837 appearance (more or less) and is really gorgeous inside - lots of gold and maroon.

It was a tricky one - we were in the stalls and I wanted a photo of the frieze above the stage. The theatre was very full and there was no way I could use a tripod, so I had to crank up the ISO, rest my camera against my brow and my head against the back of the seat! - and switch on image stabilisation. And then of course the perspective from the stalls was all wrong...thank you to Photoshop's perspective crop tool!

(The play was excellent by the way - Pygmalion with Alistair McGowan as Henry Higgins.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.