Finally

To culminate a week and more of highs and lows, a glass of the best Barolo wine has just shattered below my feet!

Only a couple of weeks past their due date, the last lambs have arrived. One giant of a ram lamb and his sister, who is minuscule.

Where to start? I think it may be called Sod's Law. I pulled out the first lamb after which all seemed well. Hermione is a wonderful mother, with plenty of milk and lambs to be proud of but on day two ... Hermione went down on her knees and hasn't stood up since. You have to add humour to adversity... she's now been renamed Roasty, She has to be turned every few hours so she has a single tit to give to her lambs. In truth... not funny.

Heidi went into labour. I,. stupidly, saw the lambs head out and waited for a while to see if she would deliver it on he own. She did but it was too late. No massaging, swinging or kiss of life could bring it back in this world. The second lamb was delivered without intervention.

A first vet came out to Hemione... and I called for a second opinion as Twin Lamb disease wasn't possible. The second opinion is more realistic. I had a choice... Pull out the lamb to save it, and it's twin and the mother... or loose all three, The trauma may have caused permanent damage to the ewe.

This evening, Hermione has moved her hind legs for the first time in four days! Go girl! You're far from out of danger, I've a serious decision to make in a couple of days and would prefer that it was to allow her to live.

Three sheep and five lambs, I should be happy but I've sweated every moment.

But, I haven't mentioned the human ordeals! Best leave them unmentioned. I once believed in right of passage. Things are sent to try us!




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.