Elements

This morning I picked up my friend Marcia, who had a total knee replacement twelve days ago, and took her and her crutches to Peet's. It's been raining all day but we didn't care. She was happy to get out of the house, and we've both had coffee in the rain there many times.

Norman, my absentee host, is an actinide chemist, and I am sleeping in his office. I've seen a lot of tables of the elements with their atomic numbers, but this is the first one I've seen with all the actinide, or radioactive elements. It's hanging over his desk. (While looking in Norman's wife Beth's office for an extra blanket, I noticed that she has the same Mary Cassat poster that I have always had in my bedroom)

I must make a small confession. I had dinner with friends up in the Berkeley hills, and it wasn't until I was driving back to my bed in Norman's office that I remembered I hadn't taken a single picture today. In the course of reliving a past life, I actually forgot about Blipfoto!

It was difficult to get a picture of the table of the elements at night without any glare, but I like the symbols and the graphics. I couldn't figure out how to crop it with my iPhone, which might have made it possible to read, but it's all I've got!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.