The Bride & Groom

My friend finally made it down the aisle, a day most of us never thought we would ever see!!!! As I walked to his house this morning dressed in my kilt there were more than a few cars sounding their horns and waving, people I have known all my life acknowledging the day.

The bride, the beautiful Nelly is French, her family and friends had travelled to Scotland, many for the first time and they were astounded by the warmth of the welcome they had received. The Auld Alliance is still as strong as it ever was…

I was humbled to be asked to be my friends best man, I know I was never first choice, that was always going to be his dad but sadly Jimmy passed away a little over a year ago and so I was a poor substitute but I did my best. The church one or two of you will recognise, the French were speechless at the splendour of this beautiful place and as my friend and I walked from the vestry to the chancel to await the arrival of the bride I was struck by just how simply but how magnificent this building is, I have decided to try and get access to the church to take some photographs for my journal when it is empty and to share it with you perhaps.

The service was translated immediately into French; I was struck by the lyrical beauty of the language which seemed only to enhance the height of occasion. As the congregation sat and we turned to sign the register there was a resounding sound as an acappella voice filling this place, I though it was a recording and turned to see who was in charge of music but I was blown away to see it was one of the guests, Sabine, eyes closed and with the voice of an angel captivating the congregation. It was one of those spine tingling moments, I cannot describe the power and control and sheer beauty of her voice. I spoke with her later and found out she is a professional singer and choir master for a gospel choir but I have to be honest and say I have never heard such a voice before.

The photographs, the mingling then the speeches, Phillipe, the bride’s brother spoke on behalf of his father, in French and in English, he spoke beautifully and passionately, the groom was brief and handed finally to me. I threw my notes on the table and spoke from memory, a welcome in French, not the corny jokes for me but I hope the few anecdotes shared entertained well enough. I felt inadequate after Phillipe’s eloquent interspersed French and English but I did my best…

I hope you enjoy seeing my friends on this most beautiful day

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.