Homecoming

There is so much I want to say today, a significant date but I simply can't say what I need to say without it coming out wrong so best I hold the thoughts with me...

Like so very often I needed to be by our river today, a little further downriver than my usual walk but this place too gives me a peaceful easy feeling, I followed the foreshore path as far as it leads then a short departure through the woods to come out onto the little expanse of sand, there is nobody around and with the coldness comes a feeling of emptiness and loneliness.

As I returned from whence I came there was a change, a late afternoon sun filtered through the trees as if to try and warm me but it only served to make me shiver and pull my jacket in around me a little tighter as the breeze carried the familiar scent around me. I stopped and watched the river and the sky for a while, sitting on the sea defences, I watched a brace of springers as they braved the chill of our river, beautiful and just at home on land as in the water. I enjoyed watching their antics but had to move on, and as I went to rise I shot a few frames.

Our river has so many faces, she can be gentle or angry, tempestuous or calm but always beautiful; she makes feel small but come whatever may I will always continue to enjoy sharing her beauty with you...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.