Social media bingo

A couple of months ago I was invited to run a workshop on using social media for impact at this year's conference for ESRC-funded final year PhD students. I was happy to oblige, even though I thought it was tall order to deliver what was required: an interactive session, repeated twice, to around 70 students each time, whose level of skill was unknown - in an hour!

After much thought (mainly on the car journey to my parents' house on 14th February) I decided to centre the workshop around a game of social media bingo. This (I hoped) would be a means of encouraging the students to discover the social media practice amongst their peers, and to initiate discussions of individuals' levels of social media engagement.

In the background of my blip you can see the students playing the game. Note also my bike horn on the right hand side of the lectern. This was very useful for keeping everyone to time.

I attended the conference all day from registration at the EICC at 09:00 until late evening at the dinner and ceilidh at the National Museum of Scotland. It was an excellent event, and my participation yet another reminder of how much I love my job.

Exercise today: running loops in 27'50, sit-ups and weights, then walked to the EICC via George Street then home again (about 1.5 hours).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.