Brotographer

By Brotographer

So in this entry, I've written down all the places and addresses we hit today, just cause there were so many cool places I need to remember!

Today there was no going half-hard, last night together in Paris. Eve and me joined Anand at Merci (Boulevard Beaumarchais) for lunch. Charcuteries, good cheeses and salad made for a less traditional, but excellent meal. Then after some confusion we walked down to Le Marais, stopping for a chilled drink at Au Bourguignon du Marais (Rue Francois Miron). This photo is of our boy Anand relaxing there. Then metro up to Republique, where we had cocktails at Café Voltaire (Avenue Voltaire) on our way to dinner.
A long walk up oberkampf later, we made it to Les Nourritures Terrestres (Rue Oberkampf) where Tom joined us and some of Anand’s friends. A really cool tiny restaurant with two jazz musicians squashed in. My last helping of good French food, so I hit up a rumpsteak with the red, red wine.
Next we went to a Brazilian bar, Curacao (Rue Oberkampf) where another one of Anand’s friends Nico joined us. Tasting maracuja caipirinhas made well again couldn't have been more pleasant after having so many this winter! We had a cool group going by this point, a mix of french and english. We headed to Mecano Bar (Rue Oberkampf) after. Somehow, Tom and me managed to pretty much miss most of this bar by going to the ATM and gambling a beer while sitting on velibs. It’s cool though, Oberkampf is an awesome street to go out at night, incredibly busy. Somehow I’d never experienced it while living in Paris, probably cause it was on the other side of town and the furthest we ever went was the occasional Quartier Latin or Grands Boulevards.
Nico hooked us up with another cool bar called …something which I don’t remember and apparently doesn’t exist on google maps as of 2012 (I know the street though! Rue Neuve Popincourt). I remember enjoying a beer while sitting on an empty crate of beer. To finish the night off properly, we headed to a club called 114 (Rue Oberkampf), where our group broke up into pieces and it was just Tom and me left on the dance floor. Amazing night really.

We made it home at 5:30, needless to say we squeezed the most out of our week in Paris. Hello 90 minutes of sleep before my train back…

peace

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.