Tech Marketing Guy

By tmg

Curvaceous snow

I am always amazed by the interesting shapes that snow can take. In this paricularly location, the wind blows strongly and frequently and it the snow takes on these interest curving shapes that hug the stone wall. I find it very curious and took a number of shots to capture it with this result. I chose black and white because I thought that this shot was really about the contrast and curves and that including color distracted from this goal. On a side note, I really like the purity of B&W images. They can really focus the viewer on the subject in a way that is not attainable with color.

In retrospect, I think that this image does not capture the scene as well as I would like. I plan on re-visiting this with the macro lens and trying to get closer to closely highlight the interesting curves of the snow.

A year ago: A festive Christmas decoration. We have a wreath there this year. Hmmmm, maybe I should blip it again.


Post processing:
Channel mixer layer in Photoshop for B&W conversion
Curves layer for contrast

Constructive criticism always welcome

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.