Tech Marketing Guy

By tmg

The day before Christmas eve

Things are surprisingly calm here at the TMG household. All gifts are purchased and wrapped and we are preparing for Christmas eve and Christmas day. The little ones are getting very excited about Santa's upcoming visit and cannot wait for their gifts.

It is funny; I am excited about Christmas too. It is not because I am expecting much in the way of gifts; it is because I cannot wait to experience it vicariously through the little TMGs. The eldest TMG is of an age where he understands and I cannot wait to see his eyes light up when he sees what is under the tree! For me, that is what Christmas is really about and I am just along for the ride. My 7D and 430EX fully charged and ready to go to document this event for posterity.

I like the holiday feeling about this barn and wreath; however, it is the lighting that was most interesting. I like how the door is lit and the resulting circular pattern. The light complements the wreath and it is this combination that caught my eye.

I did not have a tripod for this shot and so rested the camera tree on a convenient log and upped the ISO. This was taken at ISO 800 and I am quite pleased with the results and relative lack of noise. In general, I have been very pleased with the 7D's noise and will blip an ISO 1600 shot in the future as another data point.

A year ago: Blipping the weird red valve at my office. I still have no idea what it does, but have since seen more of these around other buildings and so it must have a purpose.


Post processing:
Minor straighten in PS

Constructive criticism always welcome


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.