BoHingles Blips

By BoHingles

Beacon

We had some dramatic skies over the Black country today, I was intending to go out on my bike but as I started getting ready the heavens opened so I knocked it on the head. Annoyingly there were some brighter spells later but by this time I was already out and about doing other things.

Todays blip is of the beacon tower on top of the Beacon hill itself.

Beacon Hill, one of several Beacon hills in England, is 237 metres (778 ft) above sea level, one of the highest points in the West Midlands. It is well known for fossils. The hill was once the site where beacons were lit to warn local people of invaders. Sedgley Beacon Hill provides views across the Black Country, Cannock Chase and Birmingham to the east, and to the Wrekin, Clee Hills and Malvern Hills to the west. Annoyingly the tower is surround by fencing to prevent vandalism which in itself ruins the site and a great photo opportunity.

I used a polarising filter to increase the depth of blue in the sky with the 5D set to mono and slight contrast increasing in PS.

Thanks for looking

Mr Bo Hingles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.