Valencia to Granada...

Haha… breakfast was indeed better and I got properly caught stealing the hard boiled eggs! I made the boys peel them at the table to make it look like we’d eaten them when the guy wagged his finger at me as I was lifting half a dozen out of the bowl. Peeled and stashed in the cold bag to make egg mayo sarnies for lunch! Well there’s only so much ham one can eat. The supermarkets in France are far superior to ours at home and indeed to the ones in Spain, both for choice and for quality.

In our competition to find the best roundabout, I think the one in Valencia has been my favourite. There’s a massive statue of a girl playing a violin, there’s a photo somewhere on one of the boy’s phones because I was driving I didn’t get a snap of it.

So on we drove, round the outskirts of Valencia and up to a little town called Picassent. It was quite pretty although there was some weird parade going on in the square. I’m guessing some sort of religious thing but we didn’t slow down long enough to find out. We were miles behind the boys so were trying to catch up. The hotel managed to make a mistake with the bill so by the time I’d sorted that out, it was time to hot foot it to the supermarket and on to catch them up.

We arrived in Albacete early evening, had a little bit of a drama with the lady in the hotel as she’d lost one of our bookings. She found it later on funnily enough but the language barrier was confusing. We’re trying to explain to her that we made another booking on the internet and she should have a record of it but she insisted that she had no paperwork for it. When we came back from a tapas dinner and a walk to find the bank, she’d managed to find the other booking so Campbell had his own room after all. Win! He’s not happy sharing cause he doesn’t sleep well with snoring and then worries that he’s going to snore. There’s none of that when it comes to my sleeping arrangements… I sleep like the dead whether anyone is snoring or not and I don’t give a shit if I’m snoring cause I’m asleep! Ha!

It seems that because of the Easter weekend and it being Good Friday, there were no shops open. I dare say we’ll be finding a café for lunch tomorrow if this continues. There were a variety of parades going on when we arrived and if I’m honest, they were pretty weird. The outfits worn by the Spanish people vaguely resembled the attire of the KKK and whilst I’m sure there was no connection, it just looked like some sort of ritual. It felt a little strange taking photos so I only stole one when I thought no-one was looking. No-one else appeared to be taking pics.

It was a hard day today, the boys had a lot of climbing to do but at least the scenery was better than yesterday’s industrial tour of Spain. Having nice views makes the whole experience more interesting for all of us. We didn’t finish until 8.30pm and then we went pretty much straight out for dinner after the cold baths had been had and the massages given. Apparently I’m a bit mean when it comes to that. I think they’re so tired they don’t do such a thorough job and I’d be lying if I said I didn’t get a little bit of pleasure from making them squeal like girls!

By the time we got home from dinner and I did all the paperwork its 1am. I may not be cycling 100 miles but driving all day and not finishing by dinner mean that my days don’t end when everyone else’s do. I’ll be needing a holiday when I get home!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.