carliewired

By carliewired

Another Adventure in Painting

Exhibiting great
patience with a small brush and
a brilliant plan

~ carliewired

The day began well. I was up early. I enjoyed breakfast with a delightful friend. We share joy and sorrows. We speak of things close to the heart. In spite of the rain, J makes it a good start for the day for me.

Then I was off to my first painting class at a local art supply store. The instructor today is someone who lives in the area and is noted for spectacular landscapes with a very individual style and process. I'm up for anything as I really know nothing about painting.

I thought Peter was an 'old' guy, but to my surprise he's not. The class is small, just five woman from various communities in my area. Peter is very personable. He has an easy manner. His work in progress sits there before us.

Peter likes liquid paints that come in little squeeze bottles. He paints with this minuscule brush that just about makes my eyes cross when I look at it. He has developed a unique process for himself. It requires painting out portions of the canvas with black, then re-introducing colour on top. This requires several applications to cover the black. He has one of those clever minds that can simplify a scene into essential lines and spaces. See this link to see his work. The guy is brilliant!

It didn't take me very long to figure out that this really was way over my head. Also, I can't see me painting someone else's painting any more than I can see me making someone else's quilt. But, I greatly enjoyed the conversation and the look into someone's thinking processes for their art. And, I received an invitation to an open house at a local art gallery. That could be very interesting!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.