Capital adventures

By marchmont

Tonle Sap

An earlier start, although J has started sleeping longer.

Today it was the floating village on Lake Tonle Sap. The people who live there are Vietnamese who came during the war and have never gone home. On the way we stopped at a Lotus flower farm, more little children begging. My camera is not liking the humidity, the lens keeps steaming up. I seem to have lost my lens cloth and one of my manual functions isn't working. Auto for me then.

The local association run the boat trips and there are a lot of boats all full of tourists. I suppose they do make money from this but I have to admit feeling really uncomfortable about it. It felt very voyeuristic, especially when you read about the poor life expectancy, for children and adults. The lake is vast, 200 kms x 100 kms, virtually an inland sea.

On the way back to town we detoured to the Crafts association. Lots of beautiful things, silks and souvenirs, made by people who are disabled, blind, deaf. The money earned helps run a school. I bought quite a few things, and got a free bag!

For the second night running, after a swim, no sunset, so we had a walk along to the local Wat Bo temple and then went to Amok in the Alley for a beautiful meal.

An early night though as it's Angkor Wat sunrise tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.