The Daily Fox ...

By MaggieB

An amazing moment ..

I'm giving myself another bed rest day, but went out for a little constitutional earlier today, to change the SD card in the trail cam.

After that I got a few sausages and sat on a chair in the garden and made my fox call. Mama fox came along and gathered up lots of sausage halves to take away (mum foxes bury food for the cubs to teach them to hunt and forage).

To my utter astonishment, when she returned after just a few seconds, she had a cub following her. She knew it was following her as she kept turning around to check, yet she still walked right over to me with it following behind.

After a few seconds she grabbed it by its scruff and took it back home, returning later for more sausage bits.

I consider myself a hardened old cynic and not one to give human traits and thoughts to animals .. but as I told my sister (here to look after me and mum) I was completely sobbing about it!

How amazing! It really seemed as though she'd brought the cub to see me - if she hadn't wanted it to follow her then she wouldn't have let it walk right across the lawn, towards me.

So what was it all about?

If anyone loves foxes, you might like to look at their Facebook page here .. :)

A few photos of the event here..

Only taken with my little camera - but worth viewing LARGE

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.