One daze at a time...

By Raheny_Eye

School run

Something was bothering me on the way to school this morning.
A nagging feeling that I was forgetting something.
It's when I got there that I realized that Luca was not with me, his Christmas holidays started today...

No, I did not forget about him (or the extra half hour sleep this morning). It's during the walk to school that he is at his most talkative. It's the best chance I have to answer all this questions. "Does Santa have a willy?" for example. The answer is: yes, in some dodgy grottos, and I'm not taking you there.
Or "Daddy, when a mackerel lays eggs, it's all baby mackerel in the eggs, isn't it? A mackerel cannot lay an egg with a baby salmon in it, can it? Will Finn look like me then?"
Walking by the school today was a dry run.
Actually no, it was beautifully frosted over.
The school yard was strangely quiet. Two days ago, there were a couple of fiercely determined kids trying to leave an imprint of their body in the 0.05 millimeter of snow (according to my converter, it's also very small in inches) on the ground, thus reducing the life-expectancy of their winter jackets by a good 6 months. They'll be wearing their summer anoraks sooner than expected...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.