horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Spot the Bike...

One of many many many snowy pictures likely to emanate from Edinburgh today. With the mountain bike having an unexpected puncture this morning (I mean, how? It's just been sitting in the garage) I got the offer of the car to go to work, but I just couldn't miss out on riding through six odd inches of the white stuff.

Only a few other (fool)hardy souls could have felt the same way given the paucity of tracks on the Innocent Railway Path as I rode in. Great fun though (even if I did get to work 20 minutes or so late).

Back onto the feet at lunchtime, heading for the fishmonger in Stockbridge (before shunning the queue in Mellis cos I was pushed for time) I would like, once again, to thank the City of Edinburgh Council for their efforts in making sure the pavements are as free from snow and ice as possible. Sarcasm may be the lowest form of humour, but it feels an appropriate response.

It got me wondering when the point will come that humans can be upgraded like a car. We can already get nips and tucks and laser surgery on the eyes and implants and electronic gubbins. When does the point arrive that we can get four-feet drive for tackling the snow?

And thinking of four-wheel drive - if you've got it it does not mean that you can drive over snow and ice at the usual speed with impunity. It'll help you get away from a standing start better, but 4WD 'aint gonna do nuffink for your stopping distances. Especially when you've got standard road tyres on because it's a poncey 4x4 that is suddenly getting it's first glance at something resembling 'off-road'. You can look all smug if you like, finally seeing a point to your monstrosity, but unless you know how to drive with it on this slippery stuff then that grin could be wiped away pretty damned quickly.

And I'd rather you didn't wipe me out on my way home from work tonight, so slow down please, eh?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.