Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Nostalgic View

Since many of my 'Blips' are of beautiful scenes from my walks with Dolly in the countryside, it would be easy to think that I live a life of complete rural bliss. Well, I decided it was time for a reality check.

This afternoon I went into Reading to do a bit of shopping. I normally take the train as it's easier and cheaper than fighting traffic and parking, but today I was in a hurry and was combining it with another errand, so I drove in and parked. Sunday is a busy shopping day. I generally avoid all shopping, but certainly I avoid the crowds of Sunday as much as I can. The shopping center was so full that I had to go right up to the very top to the 7th floor. It did however, give me some great views over one corner of Reading.

I lived in Reading for many years, both as a child and later again as an adult. My fondness for Reading has grown over the years even though it is not known for its beauty or tranquility. I find the congestion too much for me, and I am glad I now live a few miles away, while still close enough to take advantage of life in a large town.

As I teenager, I worked for a year in a bookshop in one of the white buildings in the foreground. I believe it may be one of the ones painted white with the blue cars outside (This would actually be the back of the shop). The skyline of Reading has changed a great deal since then, but this view remains much the same, and the bookshop is still there, though by another name and with different owners. There was no huge shopping centre back in those days!

As you can see, we had very stormy skies today. When I left the car park for home I drove right into those dark clouds and heavy rain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.