Dear Diary

What happened today?
I have no idea anymore (Sunday night when posting this).

Think most of the day disappeared due to trying to get our two new mobiles up & running. The Blip was a quick sortie to allow Flash to accompany Angie & Luna for the last 10 minutes of their walk/ride.

The thing I was dreading most was the loss of all our Nokia contact data, having been Nokia users for the last 15 years (probably longer). However was wrong, a Samsung software programme did it superbly. Setting up the rest was a time-consuming task. I went for installing everything that the phone suggested on the basis I could delete it later. From what I can see, the whole world now knows when and where I get up in the morning and how many minutes I brushed my teeth.

A long way from the phone booths of my youth. Remember being shown how to save 1d (one penny in the days of £sd), by tapping the bar on the telephone cradle according to the telephone number. Seem to remember it occasionally worked but not sure anymore. In my first workplace, a 4-star namesake London Hotel overlooking the BBC in Regent Street, there was a telephone operator on duty 24hr day sitting at a large board with headset and connecting every call by pushing wired plugs into marked holes in the board. No fax, photocopiers, computers - telex only in the realm of big business. The highlight of a year might be the postman delivering an electronic telegram!

How on earth did we ever know what the weather was currently doing over our heads, let alone organise or get to a date? Have to think about restarting my paper diaries and cranking up the Kodak Brownie.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.