SherriM

By SherriM

Feeder Frenzie

We spent most of the weekend doing yard work, here and at Mom's. After finishing the yard work this afternoon, and before starting dinner, I rewarded myself with an hour 'capturing' the hummingbirds.

I used my 18-105mm lens set at 18mm to get a better range of focus, knowing that if my images were sharp, I could crop in on post-processing. I set the camera/tripod very close to the feeder and manually focused so that both the feeder and the tree trunk behind were sharp. The light was dappled, so I had to go high on my ISO (1250).

I then set up my remote trigger, and enjoyed a nice glass of iced tea on the porch steps while shooting about 100 frames of hummingbirds. (Okay, I admit it, in at least 1/3 of those frames there wasn't bird to be seen, humming or otherwise. It took a while to get the timing right.)

Got a few really good shots, but decided to blip this one showing two of them swooping in. Their antics are quite entertaining.

After that, Mom came over and joined us for a dinner of BBQ chicken, corn on the cob and broccoli salad...delish!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.