Rain

I own two cars (I know, I'm a capitalist) and this morning neither of them was usable. The warrant expired on the Mazda yesterday and the Holden wouldn't start. Someone came and started the Holden for me, but then advised that I take it for a half hour drive to recharge the battery.

I gave some (30 seconds) thought to where I could drive to and decided on Berlins - a cafe half way down the Buller Gorge. A fantastic setting for a cafe as a customer, but not so great for the cafe itself as the various owners over the years have struggled to make it work because of its isolation. It has been closed for a couple of years now but has recently been reopened by new owners.

In the spirit of helping them make a go of it, and the fact that, even in pouring rain it's a great place to sit looking out on the river and bush while you have a cuppa, I felt I should go and pass some money over the counter.

A toasted sandwich, coffee and a chat later, I headed home.

The creeks and waterfalls are running at full spate because of our recent rain, and as you can see they are running dirty (this would usually be clear water not dirty yellow/brown).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.