Rescue Services

I was pottering about the house this morning and kept thinking I could hear a compressor going nearby. It wasn't until I stepped outside to refill the firewood box that I saw what was going on.

This is the view from my front door - looking across the neighbour's fence to the empty section on the corner. They have just cut the roof off the vehicle here (after already taking off the doors) so that they could get their 'patient' out.

Fortunately it is a rescue services practice NOT an actual accident.

Represented here are the New Zealand Police, St John's Ambulance (most of whom are voluntary) and the New Zealand Fire Service (all of whom are voluntary). All giving up their Sunday morning in order to ensure that, when called upon, they can save lives.

They are all heroes in my book.

ADDED LATER: Ironically the emergency siren went off about 5 this evening - and I heard the police, fire and ambulance all race past my house - which is usually a sign that it's a road accident that they're dealing with. I guess whoever is involved is lucky that they've all just spent today doing extra upskilling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.