Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

MONO MONDAY: LINES

The Line in Design........
This morning CCN and I had a very enjoyable Mini Blip Meet with Jolang, one of the Blackheath Blippers. We had been commenting back and forth over the past few weeks and it was lovely to meet with Jolang and put a face to the Blip Name.

My meeting with Jolang inspired me to come home and photograph two very special items that I was presented with in 1977 and 1978 when I visited Denmark while playing squash professionally in Europe. I still remember at the time I received them my Danish squash friends were very keen to let me know that they were part of the famous Cylinda Line by Danish Designer Arne Jacobsen.

It's fascinating to read about Arne Jacobsen and the influence he had on design for over 50 years from the 1920's. I'm sure if you go to the link above you will see designs of furniture and buildings that are so familiar to you.

I have always loved these gifts and I am still astonished to think that they were part of a design that he launched nearly 50 years ago in 1967. You could be forgiven for thinking they were designed yesterday. I do know they have never looked better than they do in my "Steel House".

We were delighted to meet and have a coffee with Jolang and it just reinforces what a wonderful medium blipfoto is. And by the way, I don't know to many Blippers in Blackheath who have tasted the famous Rye Bread. Aren't I the lucky one!!

Thanks once again to Fredsmum for hosting the Mono Monday Challenge. You're doing a mighty job!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.