Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

A Traumatic Day

Well, not for me, but for W. First, she woke to the terrible news that George Clooney had got engaged. Looks like she's stuck with me after all. We got over that, but then had to renew our passports which meant going down to the photo-booth to have our pictures taken. I went first and as usual looked devastatingly handsome on my pictures, but W was not at all happy with hers. For some reason I had to send my passport application to Peterborough while W had to send hers to Liverpool; I'm not sure that my suggestion that the applications were streamed according to how good-looking you were went down too well.

Things improved after that when we went to John Lewis for this month's free coffee and cake; the restaurant seemed a bit like an outing from my old employer as there were a few ex-colleagues in there. This was the last voucher but we got home to a letter from that nice Mr Lewis with vouchers for another three months. I think W was pushing it a bit though, to suggest that the promise of a 'regular' coffee and cake meant she could have one regularly every day.

And the picture? Well, fairly random. A good old-fashioned pub in Newport Pagnell. The sort of place where, if you want food, it's either cheese and onion or smoky bacon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.