Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

"Who you lookin' at?"

Had to go with a white-throated sparrow today. Any day now, they will be gone - following in the wake of the juncos who've already mostly gone for the summer. I enjoy these sparrows - they are so pretty with their bright yellow eye brows, and their song is one of the sweetest I've heard.

After neglecting the packing/sorting this weekend, I plunged back in today - reluctantly since it was a beautiful day and would have been perfect for a hike... But, I got one closet cleaned out, plus the wine cellar (no, I didn't drink all the wine!) I've listed some things for sale on Craig's List and eBay and marked some other things for donation. And, of course, quite a lot is getting trashed. I guess it is good to move every so often just to force yourself to get rid of things...

I took a break late this afternoon and headed out back with my camera. The birds were all very accommodating - lots of goldfinches in varying stages of their spring molt, as well as sparrows, chickadees and titmice ... and blue jays. Turns out that the blue jays enjoy eating the bees that are currently buzzing around the cherry trees. I wasn't quite sure if they were, in fact, eating the bees until I caught it on camera. Bad day for the bee, good day for the blue jay. That's nature, though, isn't it?

I've posted two goldfinches in different stages of molt, a bee-eating blue jay and a contemplative titmouse on Flickr, starting HERE

My apologies for being a bit of a slackard with comments - once I can get ahead of all the move-related stuff, I'll have more time...I think.

Happy Monday, people...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.