La vida de Annie

By Annie

Christmas Eve....

... and consumer hell has been replaced by a certain tranquility. No shopping today - if we haven't got it already we can survive without it for 2 days (after all we're living without a heating boiler). Instead a slushy walk in the park, which was still beautiful despite grey skies. Tame squirrels and robins approached for food, which I must remember to take next time, and dogs and their owners revelled in the calm open spaces beneath the trees. Tonight we will all go to the midnight Christmas communion service in the church handily across the road, and then see in Christmas Day with mulled wine and hot mince pies. I no longer have to sneak presents into each room, eat the carrot (for Rudolph), drink the sherry left for Santa and write a little note with the wrong hand to disguise the writing.... My babies are all grown now but they will all be home tonight and for Christmas dinner tomorrow. All in all a perfect day.

Just a perfect day,
Drink Sangria in the park,
And then later, when it gets dark,
We go home.
Just a perfect day,
Feed animals in the zoo
Then later, a movie, too,
And then home.

Oh it's such a perfect day,
I'm glad I spent it with you.
Oh such a perfect day,
You just keep me hanging on,
You just keep me hanging on.

Just a perfect day,
Problems all left alone,
Weekenders on our own.
It's such fun.
Just a perfect day,
You made me forget myself.
I thought I was someone else,
Someone good.

Oh it's such a perfect day,
I'm glad I spent it with you.
Oh such a perfect day,
You just keep me hanging on,
You just keep me hanging on.

You're going to reap just what you sow,
You're going to reap just what you sow,
You're going to reap just what you sow,
You're going to reap just what you sow...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.