Wow!!!!!!!!

I was checking my new larvae today when I realised one of my puss moth pupae had hatched!!!!
I cannot begin to tell you how excited I was! I have NEVER seen a Puss moth before in all my years of moth trapping, and this one was simply stunning!!!
It is so good to be able to blip the moths from the larvae I raised last season (See June 2nd and June 11th 2013). I would love to raise more Puss moths, as they are spectacular in all the stages!
My lovely Friend Dawne gave me some Emperor moth eggs today, so hopefully I (and half my family ) will soon be raising next years emperor moths.
The Puss moth - Cerura vinula has a wingspan of 58 - 75mm, the males being slightly smaller. They fly from May to July, and are fairly common, coming readily to light.
I also had a Large Elephant hawk moth hatch out, I will try to blip him tomorrow, I hope you will enjoy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.