Another surprise!

Last summer my friend rescued a Large Elephant hawk moth larva from her cat. I took it home, and the following day it pupated. The pupa has been in a box with my puss moth pupae all winter, and yesterday it hatched into this wonderful moth.
I especially like these moths as they are such an amazing mix of pink and olive green, very large, and incredibly fast!!!
Rosie came round this evening to see the Puss moth before I released it as she so loved the larvae last year well everyone did really, she held the puss moth while I took some shots, but she refused to hold this Hawk moth!!! she is silly!
The Large Elephant Hawk Deilephila elpenor, is a large moth from the Sphingidae family. It is found throughout the UK and on the wing between May and July. It has a wingspan of 50 - 70 mm and likes to feed on nectar from garden plants.
It is closely related to The Small Elephant Hawk Deilephila porcellus , Which was my 100th blip on June 22nd 2013!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.