The Emperor's.....

.....New clothes!
Firstly I want to say a HUGE thank you to everyone who viewed my picture of the Large Elephant Hawk Moth yesterday, I was so delighted to get up this morning and find it on the spotlight page.
It has been a tough week for me, for various reasons and this really lifted my spirits - you are all so amazing!
I am afraid at the risk of boring you rigid today's blip has turned out to be another moth! and even worse one I have blipped before!
It rained a lot today, and after work I was very busy sorting things out, so I was delighted to come home and find another beautiful male Emperor moth had hatched. I decided to blip him for you, as the males are very showy, and I haven't actually yet blipped one in it's amazing entirety.
The Emperor moth Saturnia pavonia, is the only British moth from the family Saturiniidae (the silk moths). They are widespread, but never very common and most often found on heathland and moorland. The male has a wingspan of ~60mm and flies by day, on the wing between April and June locating the larger sluggish females with his wonderful antennae, which pick up the pheromones emitted by the females.
I think he is amazing, and I hope you are enjoying my trip into British moths.
Maybe I will find something different tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.