Swarm

At one time I thought I'd be resorting to a shot of kitchen utensils in a cookshop or perhaps an unusual reflection of light on the surface of a kettle in the same shop for today's blip. Having bought a copy of Tom Ang's book on photography I've been trying out some of the ideas of composition for example; taking shots at different angles and the use of frames. But all that went out of the window at the end of the day.

We were up in Waltham Abbey visiting our friends for the day. After lunch, a visit to Bishops Stortford, including the aforementioned shop and a cream tea we went over to their allotment to view the plot and collect some spare raspberry canes for our allotment. We were talking to people on their plots and another chap who was a bee keeper and was there to collect a swarm that had settled into a tree.

I approached as close as I could but was gratefull for the zoon lens but it was rather special to see a swarm like this. When we have more space I think I'd like to learn to keep bees. Quite fascinating animals I think and so essential to us all.

Whilst waiting for dinner I spotted a Collared Dove doing acrobatics on the bird feeder. With much flapping of wings and fanning of tail feathers the dove managed to perch on the wildly swinging feeder and extract some seeds. Watching other birds on the feeder was also interesting. Greenfinches like all other finches on feeders spray the seeds about in gay abandon eating one or two but scattering many others onto the floor below, much to the benefit of the local pigeon population who know exactly where to wait.

My Dad often talked about Green Linnets. Both Susan and I were unsure as to whether there was such a bird. But today I was prompted to look it up on the trusty interweb thing and discovered that a Green Linnet is another name for a Greenfinch. So he was right. I think Green Linnet is a much more romantic name!

All in all, a very good day with good company and (lots) of good food.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.