Poking out its tongue

I captured this bumble bee poking out its tongue. What intrigued me is that its tongue is in two bits - I have never seen this before.

I milked today for the first time since I broke my leg, in late February. Farmerboy was sick, and it was our worker's day off, so that left me and the boys to get the cows milked. Son T helped me milk the cows, while son C put the cows away in their paddock, and helped clean up. A real family affair.

After getting home, and having a very quick lunch, it was off to the Physio for son T and myself. T got his results from his x-Ray and ultra sound. He has fractured his ASIS (Pelvis) which was caused by him completely tearing off the muscle. When his muscle pulled away, it took the bone with it - about 18 mm in length. He has been told it will heal by itself with time, and has been given special strengthening exercises to help increase movement. And this all happened, due to his bones growing so fast, that his muscles haven't had time to catch up.

Then it was my turn. My ankle is on the way to recovery, although is still swollen, and has fluid surrounding it. It is 2cm bigger than my other ankle. So I too have been given strengthening exercises to be done 6 times a day. In addition to this, I am to lie with my leg raised high for 15 minutes each day, with an ice pack on it to try and disburse the fluid. I have to go to the Physio each week, so she can measure my progress. I'm also required to wear a tube bandage, tighter than the one I had been wearing, for added support.

And that was basically my day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.