Still Here!

By Yorkhull

Mellows Bridge - Droihead ui Mhaoiliosa

I went on a bus tour of Dublin. I took loads of pics including many of the bridges. As I neared the end my battery died and so as I have left my hotal and the charger is buried in my case I cannot access my photos and choose a good one. So on the last few hundred yards I got out my trusty iPhone and this was the best I could manage.

About the bridge:

Mellows Bridge is the ‘old man of the river’, the longest surviving structure of all the Liffey bridges within the city. Resting squarely, Mellows strikes an elder statesman pose - a certain raised eyebrow of an arch to Anna Liffey’s lively, ever youthful grace.

It was constructed between 1764 and 1768 and was named for Queen Charlotte, wife of George III. Through all the times of war and strife, through the birth pangs of a new nation and the municipal enthusiasm for restamping the city to reflect its new national identity, the bridge itself remained unchanged. Whether called Queen’s, Queen Maeve’s or Mellows’, it is the same three elliptical arch, stone bridge which elegantly stretches the mere 43 metres to connect Queen Street in the north city to Bridgefoot Street on the south, that we see today.


So its time to get to the airport and make my way home at least for a couple of days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.