King of the Birds!

Well, he maybe ISN"T the king, but he SHOULD be! The cardinals are my favorite bird, & I've been hearing him around the neighborhood for quite awhile, but actually SEEING him is much more difficult! I got one shot of him a couple weeks ago, but not as close as I'd have liked. Today I was outside taking some flower shots when I heard him call. So I turned & looked to my left to try & spot him , but then I heard it again & it sounded like it was coming from my right. Finally I decided my hearing must be awful, as I couldn't tell WHERE it was coming from...then I realized there was a PAIR of them when the female flew into view to my left, followed closely by the male flying onto the fence off to my right. I was afraid to move & scare them off, but then the male flew to our neighbors' fence which was closer to me , & then into the little lilac tree in our back yard, just like he knew I wanted his picture. I took one shot & off he went, but I got him!! So exciting!! (I know--it doesn't take much to make me happy! Ha!) It's going to be a great day! First the cardinal, & now Jennie's on her way home & should be here in a couple of hours. She'll head back to Texas tomorrow--just coming up to get their marriage license-- but it'll be so wonderful to spend some time together!! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.