SueScape

By SueScape

The road less travelled

This old gate leads into the woods at Chithurst. Don't think it's been used much lately.

I went to Chithurst Manor for a healing treatment. My first time. Sarah was lovely and I came home feeling much brighter and steadier, having been feeling a bit unsure of the future lately, and having dizzy spells. Sarah showed me some of the grounds including the healing spring in the woods. There were carpets of Ramsons, she insisted we pick some for salad tonight. I’d borrowed a pair of leaky wellies to venture down to the spring, so came home with very muddy feet! She said a ‘townie’ would not have tackled the track we used, so I felt very chuffed. Even though I grew up in a city, I’ve lived all my adult life in the country - acceptance at last.

The Manor House has ancient history. It's earliest date is 11thC and the second wing is 14thC. Ssometimes referred to as Chithurst Abbey though the Norman church next door is at pains to assert that is has never been anything of the sort, not connected to any monastic order. There is a sign inside which says “Dedication Unknown. The church was in existence from 1080 to 1399 …. It never belonged to any monastic body and there was no Priory at Chithurst.”

The area including the Church, the Manor and the Buddhist Monastery next door are all filled with a special peace, so maybe it doesn’t take a Priory to make a place sacred. Methinks somebody doth protest too much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.